The Dungeon

Happy Wednesday 😛  I hope everyone survived their holidays okay–it’s always a weird time. I’m gonna keep this one pretty short since the end of the semester is (finally) coming in hot. Let’s talk about the dungeon!

squidward
A photo of me as the semester is ending

 

“The Dungeon” is how I lovingly refer to the windowless sort-of-office-space that lives across from my room. Now that I finally got around to decorating my bedroom, it’s time to tackle this weird little space that I’ve been literally dreaming about decorating since the summer. “Dungeon” is a little misleading-this room is actually on the third and top floor

img_1155
The saddest “before” picture you’ve ever seen

of our apartment building. But it’s so little and dark and spooky that it reminds me of a dungeon–although a lot warmer than I imagine any actual dungeon to be. As you can tell from the photo, there is a lot of work to get done. The good news is it’s such a tiny space it won’t take too long to put together. But that’s also a challenge because I have so much stuff and I’m always collecting more (bad habit). I want make sure that the room makes sense and feels open despite its size. A fun challenge, but a challenge nonetheless.

The wall graffiti is cool but not totally my style, I’m mourning for the floors that I don’t have the option of fixing, and the lights on the ceiling don’t work. But I’m so excited to finally start getting this room together.

 

After a trip to the MFA over the summer I was really inspired by the ancient Egyptian exhibit halls and learning about the ways the Egyptians used to send off their dead (disclaimer: I’m not sure if people in Egypt still use some of these practices but I’d love to know how it’s similar / different today). So the dungeon is going to be heavily inspired by that, and of course other places too. I’ve got a weird mix of stuff goin’ on in my brain. I have a plan for this project, like most of my projects, but those always change as I work. I’m so excited to see where this ends up and finally get these ideas out of my brain and into a physical space. Check back for updates, and let me know in the comments what your favorite small room hacks are 🛋

 

 

Leave a Reply

